Time to recharge my soul

 

First I must apologize for my lack of posting and checking in on any of the blogs I like to follow. I have been hit by a wall (as Oprah says, life will give you hints and it starts with a whisper…eventually it changes to a thump on the top of your head! And if you still don’t get the message, life will slam you into a wall. It’s just trying to get your attention so you can hear the message)..Anyway, I needed time to recharge my soul.

So for the first time in 12 years I found myself unemployed. It’s not a good feeling, especially when you are the only person you can count on to keep the roof over your family’s head. I’m scared, angry, sad, devastated, quite frankly…I’m pissed off!

I worked my butt off for that company, I did everything in my power to benefit that company. Things weren’t getting done, see it was a small company so it’s more than difficult to “tattle” and even when you tried to casually mention anything it caused world war 3! So I stepped up and did it…all of it (besides the shop manager..he’s awesome, and engineering-that’s over my head)! And I loved it! I was amazing at it! But all hell broke loose when I pressed (mind you for over 6 months) for a receptionist to get hired, even part-time so I would have some help. Honestly I talked to “management” for over a year and things just would have continued to go downhill if someone didn’t do something. So I did what my mom taught me, I took charge! And there were no complaints, by all accounts I was doing a wonderful job, the manager at the time even got me an awesome raise! I was even told “exceptional work performance” hours before the new manager fired me.

See I learned a valuable lesson. I need to put myself first, always!

  • I never took vacations, EVER! I couldn’t afford to on the measly pay I got, but I accepted it.
  • My son has Epilepsy and requires more than the average kid. So I was scared if I got a new job the new company wouldn’t work with me for that.
  • I was comfortable
  • I only had a ten minute drive from home
  • I even had my own office with a window!

I had been there so long I didn’t realize how much of my own personal stuff I had there. I never thought about it, I didn’t plan on leaving. I had a decent raise for the first time and like I said, I was comfortable and enjoyed what I was doing. I was good at it and I felt good about it. I even started a spreadsheet keeping track of the money I saved the company on the purchases I got involved with for inventory. After about 9 months I finally pressed the owner about my mounting pressures and the need for some office help, attaching the spreadsheet detailing the over eighteen thousand dollars I had saved the company in roughly 9 months I had been tracking it. He called and cursed me out because no one asked me to do it!! Mind you, the manager he hired over a year before did and I had emails to prove our conversations. Owner apologized, and demoted me.

My love for the company and hope for it to be successful was shrunk down a little after that…okay, a lot. Long story short, about 2 very stressful months I was fired. Told to leave the property and not even allowed to take my personal items. My children’s drawings and pictures, nothing. I have been with this company since they opened this office 12 years ago and they have NEVER treated anyone this way. I thought of that company like family. I stuck it out when it looked like that place was going to close and I worked my ass off to better things there. Honestly, they hurt my heart. They hurt my children. And why? Because I spoke the truth…

I remind myself everything happens for a reason. Doors close so you can see the new ones that are meant for you. I have to remind myself that things will work out, as my best friend reminds me-they always do. 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. When the Kids Go To Bed
    May 17, 2012 @ 14:42:07

    That is just horrible! You might actually have a law suit. They have to have grounds for termination and you are entitled to your personal property.

    Reply

    • thismomsfranticmind
      May 21, 2012 @ 13:51:00

      I have been told that by many people. I’m filing a complaint. They just kept pushing me until I burst….I finally ended up complaining about being treated unfairly compared to the male workers, granted I was emotional, but insubordination? They can’t even tell me exactly what I said or did to cause that?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

