I’m glad to see I’m not alone in this feeling.

Doctor Quack

It’s assumed in our culture: children are innocent and pure.  You see it in every advertisement for Oreos, every moral debate about media corrupting youth, Red Cross fundraisers, family movies where the adult learns a lesson about being a good parent… it’s in the creed of our society.

But really now.  Don’t you remember back to when you were a kid?  I can’t even begin to tell you how many assholes I remember from the playground (many of whom grew up to be likable and decent human beings, by the way).  No, when I look back on my own childhood, I see swing sets upon swing sets of inconsiderate twerps, and I include myself in that.  I remember once in elementary school: one of my friends threw a rock at another friend’s head.  Why?  I don’t know.  The pure exhilarating joy of it?  Back then, causing head trauma was all…

View original post 751 more words

Leave a Reply

